top of page

Watch This Space Quicklook: Star Wars: Resistance

So, after the last episode of Star Wars: Rebels ended, there was much speculation on what the next Star Wars series would be. Then we got the announcement Star Wars: Resistance, a new show created by Dave Filoni which would be more Anime inspired and would be about a young pilot going undercover and fighting the First Order. Yesterday we got the first trailer of this new show, so it's time to play...

How Upset are Older Fans are Getting at a Show Aimed at a Younger Audience? Honestly, I'm excited for this show. I liked Filoni's other work and it's only a matter of time until the show gets darker. I like the animation style, I'm a fan of cel shading, like the Telltale Games and the Rooster Teeth series RWBY. But let's breakdown this trailer.

The Plot and Setting So as mentioned previously the main plot is that Poe Dameron, played by Oscar Isaac, reprising his role from the films, has recruited a young New Republic pilot Kazuda Xiono, played by Christopher Sean, into the Resistance to spy on the First Order at spaceport on a ocean plaent called Colossus, there he works under a friend of Poe, Jarek Yeager, played by Scott Lawrence, as a racer in his team.

A clear look a Colossus. Please excuse the YouTube borders. Couldn't get rid of it.

I like the premise and the setting seems interesting and we could get a variety of interesting characters, which the fans will love. Now on the terms of characters... Characters So we have our main character Kazuda Xiono, played by Christopher Sean, he seems very young and excitable. His design is very simple, I like it. There's a clip showing him in a blue uniform, which could be a New Republic flight suit. Just a little note there.

I just like this image. Highlights the animation perfectly well.

We have Poe's pilot friend, Jerrick Yeager, played by Scott Lawrence who has done voice work in Star Wars beforehand, he was the voice of Darth Vader in many a Star Wars video, which is a fun little fact. He seems to be the mentor character to Kazuda and the rest of the young cast. Like his character design, he has a very old man at the beach vibe to him.

We have the crew who might help Kazuda as a racer. We have Tam Ryvora, a young women voiced by Suzie McGrath and Neeku Vozo, a Nikto voiced by Josh Brener. I'm hedging my bets is that Tam Ryvora will be the more voice of reason which will contrast with Neeku Voza, being a best friend who is a little fun. Also Niktos. I like those aliens. I like a lot of aliens.

Torra Doza, voiced by Myrna Velasco, a rival racer. She seems to be Kazuda's best friend/love interest?, expect a lot of shipping folks. I like her design, very bright and colourful, matches her personality. Someone on Twitter, I forgot her name, but if she is looking at this post, sorry, but she made a great point that her hair looks like Princess Leia, which would make sense.

We have the droid of the series Bucket. Nothing much to say, cool name.

We also get Poe Dameron and BB-8. It seems that Poe Dameron and BB-8 will be only in the first episode and along with Gwendoline Christie as Captain Phasma who as not seen in the trailer, but is confirmed to appear.

Speaking of characters not seen. Other members of the cast are Donald Faison as Hype Fazon, I betting he's a rival racer. We have Jim Rash and Bobby Moynihan as two Resistance mechanics. That seems fun. Rachel Butera will be playing General Leia Organa, replacing Carrie Fisher. I would also like to point out were going to have a lot of aliens. I like that. I hope we get a mix of different aliens from all the era and the spin-offs.

Speculation and Stuff I Like to Point Out We see a gold stormtrooper, at first i thought it was a normal Stormtrooper, but it actually was gold. I think this might be a hierarchy type with the ranks of stormtroopers. We have a red stormtrooper in one of the new Expanded Universe books called Cardinal. So we might see more of it.

I like starship designs. I noticed the contrast between Kazuda's hobbled together ship and Torra's more sleeker ship.

I see the sigil of the Journeyman Protectors, that appeared in Rebels, nice call back. Josh Brener also voiced a character in Rebels called Erskin Semaj, he appeared in a few episodes as mostly when Mon Mothma was around. He could appear as a Resistance member.

We have a new type of TIE fighter show up. Kazuda helmet has a symbol which looks like the logo which appeared on the star destroyers from Episode III.

And that's all I have to say on this. Colour me excited for this show.

bottom of page